Becky Says...

December 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 24

I continue to get notes about the "Keeping Watch" entry, from people sharing their own stories. Those notes are appreciated. They're another reminder that none of us are alone, even though our experiences are unique.

I was going to write a cranky little bit about the music at a church service I just watched on television, but then I remembered that even though the music wasn't what I would have chosen to hear or participate in this night, well it's not my Birthday they were celebrating.

Thoughts of Christmas Eves past have been with me today. There was the year that a Jewish friend was with a bunch of us for the Lutheran service. We were pleased that he knew so much of the liturgy. But to be safe, we had him parked between two Lutherans...of whom I was one. I'd like to do that again some year.

And the times when it was unseasonably warm or bitterly cold also stand out. We rarely have snow on Christmas in the piedmont section of North Carolina, but we did in 1999. In most places it was flurries that didn't stick, but in some towns I passed through on my way home the grass was white.

It used to be that my paternal cousins always got together on Christmas Eve. It was fun watching the generation one below mine growing up---often to resemble their grandparents more than their parents. Now those grown children have children of their own, and we're fairly scattered so we don't do the get-together thing every year.

Those are but a few of the things I've remembered today. I hope you have some pleasant Christmas Eve memories, too.


Holidailies

I am participating this year in Holidailies, a group of writers who promise to try very, very hard to update daily all month. I am familiar with the work of quite a few of the writers, and am enjoying becoming familiar with others.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky