Becky Says...

December 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 12

I made a new friend today. He's quite handsome, which I noticed first off. Gorgeous dark hair, and deep brown eyes. And very polite. I didn't catch his name, or I'd tell you.

As it happened, I needed to make the afternoon mail run (okay, stroll), and had to go a bit earlier than usual since we had clients coming in who would need my presence as a witness to document-signing.

So I was walking down the sidewalk toward the outgoing mailbox when this gentleman and the lady with whom he was walking came up an intersecting walkway. They paused, I paused, and we had a little meet-and-greet session.

He is, by the way, a chocolate Labrador Retriever. I asked his human if it were all right to pet him. She said it would be fine, so I put my hand out, down low and with palm up to let him know I meant no harm.

He showed me he appreciated the gesture by licking my hand. He then wanted his head petted, and while I took care of that, he sniffed me the once-over. Apparently I passed inspection; he made no effort to get away from me.

I thanked the pair for the visit, telling them that ordinarily I spent my workdays in the company of a Golden Retriever who was not at work today. Then we parted company, to go on with our respective walks. I believe the two of them live near the office complex, so I look forward to future encounters.


Holidailies

I am participating this year in Holidailies, a group of writers who promise to try very, very hard to update daily all month. I am familiar with the work of quite a few of the writers, and am enjoying becoming familiar with others.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky