Becky Says...

November 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






November 28

If you've ever wondered about the existence of a Homosexual Agenda, the truth is now revealed in Ben's November 25 entry. Ben, you take care now.

I've spent a lazy couple of days catching up with myself, my sleep, and with some journal reading (for instance, the entry noted in the above paragraph). There is usually nothing I need so much that I'll shop on the day after Thanksgiving, and that was definitely true this year.

One of the things I would have done yesterday had I gone back to my hometown for the holiday would have been to watch at least part of the Carrousel Parade. I've watched it many a year, and even been to it once. It's held in Charlotte, and showcases many things from the Charlotte metro area (which includes places in North and South Carolina).

As much as I like the parade, when I was in high school band I was relieved when we turned down an invitation to participate. We decided we'd rather stay home and avoid all that pesky marching. No, I'm not kidding. It was a longer parade than those in which we normally participated, and that length was the deciding factor.

One year the Carrousel people were welcomed into the nationally televised group of Thanksgiving Day parades. The only problem with that was the timing. The Carrousel Parade had been held in the afternoon, and the national coverage is always mornings. Well, the parade was moved to morning that year, but it was just wrong.

So the next year the parade was back to its usual afternoon time slot on a local station. What may have been lost in national exposure was more than made up in local happiness.

Tradition is a wonderful, complex thing, and not easily discarded.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky