Becky Says...

November 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






November 26

I took my life into my own hands late this afternoon---I went into a grocery store the day before Thanksgiving. I knew it was risky, but I really had to have a couple of things. There were quite a few very grim-faced people there with me. Many of them were pushing carts that seemed to hold enough food to prepare several meals for the entire population of Chapel Hill.

It really didn't take me much time to get my items and head to the checkouts, but I made a conscious choice to use one of the do-it-yourself lanes this time. Safety was the reason. I was afraid to get too close to anyone with one of those heavy-laden carts, to prevent being buried by a possible avalanche.

Once through with my purchases, I briefly entertained the notion of stopping at another store for a few minutes, but decided it was in my best interest to leave the shopping center before the rest of the after-work crowd arrived. So I came home from my adventure, relatively unscathed and glad the risk I took paid off.

I hope all of you have a good Thursday, whether or not it's Thanksgiving Day for you.

November 25

I went to my favorite deli today, for a favorite sandwich. I have said more than once that one of the reasons I love going there is that they know their regulars, and I usually don't have to get far into placing my order before one of the people working there finishes saying it, or says it in unison with me. I've said it made me feel good to know that if I ever got too tired to tell it, one of them would recognize me and just fix the sandwich.

Today there was a twist. A new man was working behind the counter, and presumed he was to wait on me. I caught the smile from the other man working, and dutifully told the newbie what I wanted. As is custom, I then walked down to the other end of the counter to get my chips and wait to pay. Only this time there was no wait.

The newbie, with a very puzzled expression on his face, was walking toward me with the ready-to-go sandwich as I turned around from getting the chips. I put the chips on the counter and reached for my wallet. I looked at the newbie, who was still a little stunned, and simply said, "He's good." I then paid newbie, picked up my bag, wished them both a pleasant afternoon, and left.

I'm wondering if the man who knows me and my regular order ever admitted to the newbie that he had seen me getting out of my car, knew my regular order, and started fixing it as soon as he saw me.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky