Becky Says...

November 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






November 6

November 15 will be my fiftieth birthday. Since this is a big deal of a birthday, I want to request your help in celebrating it. I'm asking now so that you can mark your calendars.

What I'd like you to do to help me celebrate is to take a picture. Just for me, of anything that strikes your fancy. Please don't take it till the fifteenth (where you are, for those of you across the Date Line), and please take it on that day, during any of the 24 hours that you please.

I'd like to put the pictures online, in a celebration section, soon after the fifteenth. If you just can't stand the thought of having your work displayed, that's cool, but make sure you tell me. Otherwise, I'm taking your sending the picture as your permission to display it. Please make sure you get the permission of anyone who happens to be in the shot. And since this is the sort of page that people of all ages might want to see, please send something suitable. I reserve the right not to display a shot I don't feel okay displaying.

I'm working under the assumption that you'll have access to a digital camera. If you don't, and want to send me a snapshot to be scanned, that's fine, too---just write to ask me for a mailing address. Those of you sending digital images, send them to birthday (at) beckysays (dot) com. And please make them a manageable size.

When you send a picture, please tell me what it is, even if it's obvious---I may know it's the Statue of Liberty, but tell me anyway, please. And tell me what name you'd like to use. If I know you as abcxyz from a message board, and you'd like to be known by a real name, let me know. I'm also happy to call you "Anonymous," if you prefer. Copyright for the shots, of course, stays with the photographers.

This idea is not original with me; I'm actually borrowing it from several different people, and you should feel free to borrow it yourselves.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky