Becky Says...

September 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 14

Several things on my mind tonight.

It's too early in the game for me to be worried about Hurricane Isabel, but I am certainly aware of her current location and that she could head this way. If she does, it will be late this coming week. All I can personally do is make sure I have provisions, and I already have just about everything I'll need.

My one piece of storm-related advice: if a major storm is approaching, wash your dishes. I did that in 1996 as Fran approached, and was extremely grateful that I didn't have a sinkful of dirty dishes and no hot water for several days.

In catching up on web reading this weekend, I found Ben's September 11 comments. For a second year he has written something on the subject that I commend to you.

I know that spammers use fake names, but I got one spam note this weekend with a sender name that truly startled me. No, it wasn't my name. It was that of an acquaintance in Chapel Hill. The lady whose name was used is a community activist, but I doubt she's taken up sales of penis enlarging methods as a fund-raiser.

But then again, this is Chapel Hill, and stranger things have happened. I've lived in this area a long time. I've seen lots of strange things happen here.

Including Hurricane Fran.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky