Becky Says...

September 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 2

I'm sad tonight.

I was containing my not-so-happy thoughts rather well, till I read an e-mail note from a friend who asked a simple question. Although the answer to the question was also simple, I found myself in tears as I was typing.

The friend wrote back, with some sympathy, knowing only that I was sad. And the question-and-answer was not what made me sad; it merely allowed the floodgates to open. I think tears are a good, cleansing thing, so I don't regret having them come.

The question evoked memories of a friendship that will never be whole again. And that led me to think of others who are missing from my life for one reason or another.

And that's just the part of why I'm sad tonight that is mine to tell. Suffice it to say there's a lot of sadness touching the lives of people who matter to me, and I'm sad for them.

And for heaven's sake, do not make the mistake of trying to cheer me up. I already know things will look better, get better, whatever better. That does not mean my sadness is not valid or is not a necessary thing right this very minute. And it needs time to sort itself.

I have long thought it to be both pointless and borderline boorish to try to force someone to cheer up. Don't make me think that of you.

It would just make me sadder.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky