Becky Says...

August 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 30

There are those moments in working when you realize absolutely that your job is recognized as yours by those who don't work in your place of employment. I had one such yesterday, courtesy of the woman in charge of publishing legal notices in the local paper.

At her request, we have recently started sending the notices as text files attached to e-mail, rather than sending printed ones through postal mail. The message I sent to her on Thursday with such a notice attached requested that she reply to let me know the notice arrived, with the intent that the reply would be printed for our files. My message addressed her as Ms. Lastname, which is how I've referred to her for the two years I've been working with such notices.

She has apparently decided that she knows who I am, and wants to be a little less formal. The reply from her started off, "Hey, Rebecca!" And was signed with just her first name.

For all sorts of reasons of respect and politeness, that move was hers to make, not mine. And that she made it pleases me enormously. I'm still smiling about it today.

August 28

Random bits from the workday.

Zoe the office dog tried very hard to get me to change my mind about whether or not she had had enough of my lunch today. She had no luck in this endeavor. Zoe is nothing if not persistent. I, however, am not only persistent, I'm taller and I have opposable thumbs.

Bits of silliness (other than Zoe trying to bamboozle me into more food) included the whole of the support staff. Ms. Nameless has a sense of humor that meshes with ours rather well. This is a characteristic recognized and much appreciated by both Wendy and me.

We sometimes comment at work that I have some really good connections in terms of getting information. A slightly odd one came to light late this afternoon. One of the attorneys was trying to find the phone number for a business in town. I commented that if the number had been assigned after the phone directory had been published, it was no problem, because I knew the owner's mother and could call her to get it.

Text � copyright 2000-2003 Becky