Becky Says...

August 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 22

Thursday was indeed a better day. There were no e-mail worms waiting eradication, at any point during the day. The car work was done in a timely manner, and wound up costing me less money than I had thought it would, which is a very good thing.

I have been a customer of this particular garage for a number of years. I've always been satisfied with the work, and pleased with the attitude. The people who work there have never treated me as though I were too stupid to understand what they were telling me about the car. This gets them a whole lot of loyalty.

While I was waiting for the work to be done, I read several chapters in a book I need to have finished by the middle of next month for a discussion. I usually wind up not able to do much reading in a waiting room situation, but this book, Cristina Garcia's Dreaming in Cuban, is captivating enough that nothing really distracted me. I rarely recommend books, but if you're at all interested in Latin American literature, you might want to look into this one.

The rest of the day went well, though it was rather busy. Of course, I was later getting to the office than usual, so my schedule there was a little off, at least according to office dog Zoe. She and I usually have lunch together, in my office, at a fairly set time. I needed to delay it a few minutes in order to help someone with a document. I told Zoe we were going to have to wait.

Zoe got bored waiting and decided a nap was in order, and she didn't wake up for about an hour. Which meant she had a really late lunch. She didn't let that deter her zeal for late-afternoon treats, though. They were served on schedule.

After work, I spent some time catching up with a couple of friends, then decided I needed sleep. I woke up to find a fire truck and two police cars in the parking lot (there's a fire hydrant across the lot from me). The flashing lights are what attracted my attention. Based on where the two police cars were parked, I'm thinking there may have been a kitchen fire in one of the buildings near mine. A lack of more firefighters pretty much told me the problem was a small one, and no ambulance pretty much meant no injured people. This is good.

Now, I'm hoping for a peaceful Friday. Hope the same is true for you.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky