Becky Says...

August 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 14

Many of you already know that one of my Golden Retriever buddies died this past weekend. Zeke's death was unexpected, but from what I have been told, I'm sure he didn't suffer long. Wendy has told more about Zeke in the linked entry.

Although I hadn't had a chance to spend too much time with the boy, he was so good-natured and loving that it was quite easy to love him. I was honored that he decided early on in knowing me that I was trustworthy.

Zeke, you may recall, spent a week as co-office dog last summer, while his humans were vacationing. This picture is from that week

Zeke, June 2002

There are several wonderful anecdotes about Zeke in the office. Earlier in the week, I told his mom, DJ, that I wanted to share one of my favorite Zeke stories, from what I believe was the first time I met him.

This is also a Misty story. She was our first office Golden Retriever, and was at work the morning that Zeke came by to spend a little time with us. The two dogs, of course, had known each other for a long time.

For some reason, Wendy needed to leave the office for a few minutes. On her way out, she looked at the two dogs and told them to be good, and to stay with Aunt Becky. Whereupon Misty decided she had better let Zeke in on a fact of life. She came over to my desk, made sure Zeke could see her, and plopped herself down on my foot.

Zeke was no fool. He understood the gesture meant I had been Misty's Aunt Becky before he arrived, and therefore he needn't bother trying to lay claim. So he did what any sensible dog would do under the circumstances. He found a spot in the lobby a few feet in front of my desk, settled himself down, turned his back to Misty and me, and promptly went to sleep.

I'll miss his visits. He was a special boy.

Text and image © copyright 2000-2003 Becky