Becky Says...

August 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 3

I need some good freelance project vibes, please. I'm working on this project that I really should have turned down.

This one is mailing labels. The data is not in a Becky-friendly form, and the project is taking way more time than I want to spend on it. I'm working on it this weekend mainly to get it out of my hair for the week to come. And I'm regretting agreeing to do it, but honor forbids calling the client and telling said client to go find another magician.

Okay, enough with the labels. On to other things on my mind this day.

This is the weekend that North Carolina has declared freedom from sales tax for a list of items commonly thought of as back-to-school things. It is also a treat for those of us who don't need to go back to school this month, in that we can buy the things on the list we use without paying seven percent above the price.

I haven't seen enough of the math on this one to know how much revenue the state will give up, but I do wonder how that stacks up against a lessening of the tax the rest of the year and skipping this one tax-free time.

North Carolina legislators have had, in my opinion, some strange ideas about taxation over the years I've been paying attention to such things. Those ideas, when translated into law, have cost the state some serious money in times when the state couldn't afford it. Our state constitution requires a balanced budget. Sometimes the tightrope act performed to make that happen is better than anything Ringling Brothers can stage.

Other times, it just makes our legislators look stupid.

I don't have a large tolerance level for stupidity. I suspect you already knew that. Based on that lack of tolerance, I could rant about the stupidity of a proposed ban on gay marriage, but I won't, at least not now. Instead, this straight Southern girl is going to send you to see what Sister Betty has to say on the subject.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky