Becky Says...

July 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 29

Today, just because I wanted to, I wore a charm bracelet. It's one I've had since I was rather young---I remember which friend gave it to me, and that it was for Christmas, but I don't remember exactly what year that was.

I don't wear the bracelet often these days. It's really not easy to type while wearing it, since the charms wind up bumping the edge of the leyboard. But I do like it.

As you've probably guessed, all the charms on the bracelet mean something special to me. Some do because of the significance of the giver and the symbol; others for the symbol alone. But all are special. I thought I'd wander down memory lane a little, and tell you about the charms. Most of you know that I'm a North Carolinian, a musician who plays piano and flute, and that I'm Lutheran in background. Other charms will be explained as we get to them.

To keep the page from loading more slowly than cold molasses, I have reduced the image here. To see a larger version, click on the image.

Charm Bracelet

Starting at the left: the first charm is of Gaston College, which is in Dallas, NC and is where my aunt was the first Director of the Learning Resources Center. Next to it is a miniature of my high school class ring. Third is a depiction of the North Carolina flag. A grand piano follows.

Just beyond that is a scorpion (my Zodiac symbol), followed by a topaz-colored stone (my birthstone). Next is a Lutheran emblem, the one usually referred to as Luther's Rose.

After that are a flute and a music note, followed by a charm depicting the seal of Salem College, where my mother and my aunt got their undergraduate degrees. That's followed by a cat face, representing a number of pet cats. Last is a mustard seed, representing faith.

Each of those charms makes me smile.

Text and image © copyright 2000-2003 Becky