Becky Says...

July 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 28

One of my fairly regular freelance clients got in touch with me. Client needed some work done, but had not much of a clue what was involved. It was assumed by said client that I could reprint some information gathered a couple of years ago.

Unmentioned was the client's thought that the reprint would not cost much at all. Which would indeed have been the case, except for one little tiny flaw. The information gathered two years ago is similar to, but not the same as, the information the client wants this time.

I answered the request by pointing out the difference in information requested, and went on to say that I could gather this year's version, but it would be from scratch (as in, it will cost much more than a reprint). This was all right by the client, so I will spend the next few days getting that information together and putting it into a format useful to the client.

The time between the request coming and the confirmation after my reply to it was spent thinking how much the request felt like I was being asked to perform a magic trick. You know---say abracadabra and the information transforms itself from useless for the project at hand to exactly the right thing.

I should probably warn clients that there is a surcharge for magic.

Text � copyright 2000-2003 Becky