Becky Says...

July 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 14

Ms. Nameless, our new receptionist, has done a wonderful job in the week she's worked at the law firm. She has grasped all sorts of concepts, and is learning to work with the various software programs we use. We are most pleased. And she seems to like us, too, so this is working out to be a good deal all around.

I promise I'll get a name for her one of these days, but so far I haven't had a chance.

Today was busy, and tonight has been filled with e-mail --- of the good kind, from actual people instead of spam bots. I spent some time answering that, and now find myself pretty much worded out. I'll try to come up with a few more in the not-too-distant future.

July 13

I spent part of the afternoon seeing Patrick's play, The Illusion of You, as part of the Ten by Ten Festival in Carrboro, NC. TeKay directed the play.

I had been a little afraid of what I might be getting into with this. I don't usually go to plays with any baggage other than my handbag, and this time, I had several extra pieces. I have corresponded with Patrick enough to consider him a friend, and know (and like) this play from reading it several times. I know my friend TeKay from correspondence and in person. For both their sakes, I wanted the play to be wonderfully acted and well received.

And I probably shouldn't admit this because theater isn't my arts area, but I had my own idea of how those characters should behave, quite apart from having read the stage directions. That comes from years of reading novels and forming mental pictures of the characters.

I am pleased to report that the play was wonderfully done. The actor and actress brought the needed talent and attitude to their parts, the other elements came together quite well, and I know the audience liked it. And as you've probably guessed, my mental picture was repainted, in colors and tones ever so much better than the original had been.

The festival is comprised of ten plays by ten authors, with each play lasting ten minutes. Which means there were nine other plays following Patrick's. I wasn't sure I could switch mental gears fast enough to go with that, but I am pleased to report that I could and did. The other plays were interesting and were presented well. Not to give a spoiler, but there was one about toilet paper that was uproariously funny and included semi-nude men for my viewing pleasure.

It was much fun to spend a few minutes with TeKay after the show. We had one of those conversations that had little to do with the matter at hand and a lot to do with websites and online writers we both care about, and other aspects of our lives.

Ten by Ten will continue its run this coming weekend. If you're in the area, make plans to come. All the information is on the Festival's webpage.

Text � copyright 2000-2003 Becky