Becky Says...

July 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 9

Things I've been doing the past few days:

Teaching a civics lesson.

Realizing just exactly how much I appreciate good manners.

Thinking very, very hard in the direction of a friend that I needed an update on his plans. Without further communication from me, said update appeared. Gotta love ESP.

Introducing a friend to the joy that is one of my favorite message boards. I am no doubt going to need to make coffee several times over for this one. The last time I saw her, she was so engrossed in a thread on books that she wasn't aware of anything else going on in the room.

Learning some things about Blogger for a family project. Side benefit of this (in both directions) was being able to work with a friend who was having problems with it. I learned a long time ago from my mother the teacher that the best way to learn something was to approach it with an eye toward teaching it to someone else. She was right.

July 8

Talk about living in the past---this afternoon, while I was working on entering descriptions of legal work done by one attorney last week (which would cover the period June 30-July 3, 2003, since Friday was a holiday), the billing program burped and changed the date. It still had the June 30 and July 3 parts, but it decided the year was 1999.

It did that on all but three of the entries I made. Which meant that according to the program, the attorney only worked about two hours out of the past week...and had gone unpaid for a lot of hours for nearly four years.

It took a few minutes to sort that out, but with one click of a mouse button we were back in 2003 again. And out of the time warp.

Another work-related bit of news is that since there are more people in the office than we had had, office dog Zoe is having to adjust her sleeping habits. It's annoying her that her favorite summertime nap spot, near an air conditioning vent, is being used for work. Zoe is flexible about such things, though, and will soon find an appropriate alternative sleep spot.

And yes, those really were the two problems of the day. Peaceful is good.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky