Becky Says...

June 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






June 21

Gotta love those oblique reminders of one's place in the grand scheme of things. That vague comment is my way of saying that not one but two people managed to do that for me yesterday.

Which means I wasn't in a really good mood heading into today.

But it's okay now. I've decision-reached and housecleaned, and I'm not in a bad mood at all.

I've mentioned more than once that I'm not wonderfully good at the sorting part of housework---the part where you decide you don't need whatever anymore. On the other hand, I am good at the scrubbing variety. So in mid-sort, I'll go scrub something. Gives me a break from the part I don't like doing, and leaves me with a clean surface. Not at all a bad thing.

I do have two secret weapons in the housework wars: companions and company. The former is most helpful when I'm really stuck in a sorting phase...having someone else's opinion about the items will often help me turn loose of something I was wavering about. The latter is most helpful when I need a nudge away from other pursuits and into the housework arena.

Right now I'm not stuck in sorting, so I haven't invited people to come help. But I have invited various and sundry people to come visit in the next couple of months, and do want to have the place clean enough that it won't be embarrassing to let them come past the doorway.

Why yes, I could revive that wonderful custom of porch-sitting, only one of the invitees has been invited to spend the night. And I don't happen to have a handy sleeping porch. That means I should end this and get back to the housework.

Text � copyright 2000-2003 Becky