Becky Says...

June 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






June 16

Today's lineup includes narrowmindedness, manners and coffeemakers. In that order.

I started writing something tonight on narrowmindedness that isn't ready for posting. (The short version: I'm against it. But then you knew that, didn't you?) It may well wind up being an essay at Counsel Giver instead of here. If so, I'll post a link.

A comment on manners: no matter how excited you are at someone's news, please don't pass it along if it isn't your place to do so. Someone tonight did just that, and the person whose news was shared is probably going to be too nice to say anything about it. But I'm not. Mind your own damned business.

I was late getting home from work today, because I was on a critical mission. I had to accomplish two things: buy a new office coffeemaker and provide a decent burial for the old one. We at the law firm go through a lot of coffee. And this afternoon, the coffeemaker that had been perking right along (sorry, couldn't resist) for a couple of years now just flat quit.

Ah well, at least we had the last bits of prior cups to keep us happy. And as for problems that could arise on a Monday, this one was minor. After all, I know where such appliances are sold, and I have access to an office credit card. So off I went, and found what I wanted a few minutes after arriving at the store. For about half the amount I was thinking I might have to pay. For the record, this was the same department store that had the wonderful shoe sale last month.

Next step was to come back to the office and get the new coffeemaker ready for tomorrow's use. While it was doing its obligatory pot of nothing but water, I gave the dead one a decent burial in the nearest dumpster. Back inside, I dumped out the freshly-brewed water and did the things necessary to set up tomorrow morning's coffee.

I sent e-mail to Wendy to let her know that the mission was accomplished. By that point, it was nearly 8:00 p.m. Finally I came home, secure in the knowledge that the office will be prepared for the Tuesday onslaught of coffee drinkers. Not a bad way to end a day's work.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky