Becky Says...

June 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






June 1

I'm sure you've all been waiting for an update on the links group that has provided so much entertainment for you in the last fourteen months of our collective life. Well, those good people have gone and done it again. I took a week or so off from reading posts, and came back to some that have amused me all evening.

The group got a new member in March who managed to wreak havoc by making a lot of suggestions without having a sense of the group. And when his expertise was questioned, he whined. Based on his level of expertise in the areas of which he was proposing changes, by the way, I am an expert in rocket science and should be sending suggestions to NASA on an hourly basis.

Anyway, great sweeping changes (hereinafter referred to as gsc) were made to the way the group was arranging links. And now, the gsc are being partially revoked. We are going back to the old way, without the requirement of reciprocity for group membership, after the self-proclaimed expert pissed off everyone in the group. I am not completely caught up with reading posts to the group; I have been doing other things like going to work and sleeping while the catfight was being waged.

The best news I've seen so far is that I can ditch the link I had to another of the group members who has a way of making my skin crawl and whose work I don't like anyway. This person has chosen to only link to group member sites that complement hers, and mercifully mine does not.

And one group member is the most paranoid soul I have ever seen post online. He recently joined the group, and then announced he was unsubscribing. He came back a day or so later, complaining that no one of the group members had answered his post announcing his unsubscription.

He went on to complain that there was a conspiracy, that his website (which, by the way, he calls a sight) was going to be damaged if he stayed with the group but he was not going to leave the group. Instead, he was going to have the group investigated by an outside source, by golly!

Near as I can tell, this has to do with whether or not the group was formed to be a links farm (it wasn't) and why we won't tell him it was. But let's let his outside source figure that one out. I'm sure they'll post a lengthy message as soon as they've arrived from Jupiter and started their investigation, but it will be a few days since interplanetary travel takes time.

Hmm. I need to send that last bit of insight to NASA.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky