Becky Says...

May 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 31

TeKay got in touch with me late Thursday night and invited me to go see The Music Man on Friday. Someone he knew was in the cast, and two other friends of his were going to come along. I thought it sounded like something I'd enjoy, and I was right.

During the course of the workday, he called to fill me in on the details --- like what time the play started and exactly where it was to be (at a local church's new location). I brought up the question of what level of dressiness we were trying to achieve, since Fridays are casual days at the law firm. TeKay told me what he planned to wear, and we agreed that if everyone else were dressed up, well, we'd just shock the church members. He also told me that since I had seen him he had dyed his hair, and it was now orange (to which I replied that mine was still brown).

Here's a small hint: if someone's giving you directions to somewhere, make sure you're both talking about the same direction on the highway. We weren't, and I got thoroughly confused. Let's just say I was late, shall we? But not very.

I got there at some point in the second scene of the play, and started trying to find my orange-haired friend. So how hard could it be to find an orange-haired black man in an audience? Very, very hard. And he exaggerated about the orange.

I didn't find him till intermission. At that point, I met his friends, of whom I had heard before but hadn't met. Let's use initials for them---the woman is A and the man is R. We spent the rest of the play together.

The play itself was pretty good. TeKay's castmate friend was wonderful in her role. Most of the cast members were good in theirs, too. And for the most part, the small orchestra's accompaniment was good. There were a few off-key moments, and a couple of times when singers and orchestra were vying for attention. But all in all, a pretty good show.

Since I know you've been waiting for this: no, we weren't incorrectly dressed; many people were much more casual in attire than we were. So we didn't shock the church members. We did find the attitude of some of the church members to be a little cloying. Trust me: The Music Man is not an evangelical tool.

After the show, we stayed around a few minutes so TeKay could introduce us to his friend, and then decided where we were going to eat. Next on the agenda was Finding Becky's Car, since the parking lot was arranged in several L-shaped areas and in my rush to get inside, I had forgotten to make mental note of which one I had used. That done, TeKay and R followed me home to drop my car, then we met A at the bistro.

A, R, and TeKay are all involved in various aspects of the local arts scene. Though I haven't done much music in public in the last few years, I have some history and lots of friends. So if you're guessing that most of the conversation had to do with local arts, you'd be right.

For me, it was a most pleasant evening, and I hope to have many similar ones in the future.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky