Becky Says...

May 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 26

Somebody wants Becky. Pity I know neither the person nor why said person wants Becky (perhaps it's for spamming purposes). Nonetheless, it pleases me that I am the first result. This, of course, proves my point about googlebots.

That search hasn't resulted (yet) in a personal message landing in my inbox. Last week, though, someone searching for the words, "write to me," found my comments page. and did as it suggested. This is good; it's always nice to hear from readers.

But this one feels like a situation that could get seriously tiresome. The writer has apparently made some broad assumptions about my interests and tastes based on what little he's read in the journal and is sending unsolicited suggestions for books and music. And he has glommed onto a couple of things I've said and taken them to be the whole of my existence (which they aren't).

I really don't like such glomming from strangers. I don't plan to let these things continue. I'm trying to be polite, but as I've said just recently, my patience with annoyances is not high right now.

Which brings me to my point: if you want to strike up a friendship with a journaller, make sure it's obvious you've spent some time really reading archives, and not just hunting for a pen pal. Some of us really like to write letters, but not when we're asked to reply to something that seems to have come in from a neighboring universe.

And above all else, don't glom.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky