Becky Says...

May 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 25

I am really looking forward to doing not much tomorrow. It's a day off, and I need one. Don't get me wrong; I love my work. But I need the break. I also need to recuperate from today's adventure: grocery shopping.

On my way home from work on Friday, I stopped at the grocery store. My mistake was that I stopped with no list, which meant that I wound up having to go back today to get everything else. And I'm convinced that this chain has decided to make me work for my shopper's card benefits.

To begin with, the two stores in the chain that I'm most likely to use (one near work, the other near home) are both in the midst of remodelling. The one near home is just shy of a disaster area. Fully half of the lights are missing, and a lot of reflective surface went away when they removed the floor linoleum. So it's dark in there. Very dark.

Aside from lighting and flooring, the area used for refrigerated or frozen foods is being revamped. This means that cooler cases are plopped in the wrong places at the moment. They, of course, have need of electricity to keep them cooling, so they're parked near outlets or rigged with extension cords that are mind-boggling in their complex snaking to avoid traffic patterns.

At the other store, there is chaos, but not so much. Most of the lighting is still intact, so the lack of floor linoleum shine isn't as obvious. Also, I wasn't totally familiar with its layout. This means that the shelving they've moved around isn't quite as obviously in a strange place to me, so it doesn't bother me quite as much.

I wish they had chosen to finish one store before doing the other. Yes, there are other stores in the chain, not to mention other chains I could patronize. But both of these are in shopping centers where I have other reason to go, and I don't want to make that many extra trips.

And of course it's all about me.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky