Becky Says...

May 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 6

Late this afternoon, after everyone else had gone for the day, Wendy and I sat down and started discussing current work, upcoming work, and various and sundry other things. The conversation got to the subject of stress, and we had a bit of a rehash of the last few months. I can't speak for Wendy on this, but after that conversation, I'm amazed that either one of us, and the other folk in the law firm, can still function.

The stresses we were discussing have been good events and not-so-good ones. They include personnel changes, the bizarre ice storm that found us camped out at the law firm, the rest of the heavy-ness of winter, the uncertainties of the economy, illnesses of various staff members, and illnesses and accidents of loved ones. Oh, and lots and lots of work.

In case you were wondering, I'm considering the lots and lots of work in the good events category. The work is challenging, but I love what I do, and I think the others are there by choice, too. We have some really fascinating stuff going on these days, and I'm thriving on being part of the team doing the work.

That teamwork notion is one of the aspects of my job that I enjoy most...the spirit that the work done by each person there is integral to the firm. Excuse me if that sounds way too much like I took a left turn into Cheerleading 101. It's just that I feel that my contributions are respected and appreciated, in ways I haven't felt in other work environments.

Feeling good about my job is definitely not stressful!

And, of course, there's always the stress relief that comes from patting a friendly head...

Zoe, ever ready for a good pat.

Text and image � copyright 2000-2003 Becky