Becky Says...

April 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 29

I'm discovering some things about myself these days. Some of those things, I like quite a bit. At the risk of sounding arrogant, I've found some self-confidence that I didn't know was there. And that feels good.

It helps that the people with whom I work reinforce my good feelings about me by saying thanks, and by telling me when I've done something particularly well, and by offering any corrections or suggestions in gentle ways. Yes, I know one's self-worth isn't dependent on praise. I'm just saying it helps.

Between tax season and some other things going on, this has been a really stressed-out time for most of us at the law firm. Even office dog Zoe is feeling the stress, and doing her best to help us cope.

Part of her self-defined responsibility is to take care of her people, as in go be the calming presence if one is needed. Today, she interrupted her own lunch to do that. It was a wonderful gesture on her part, and the people involved really appreciated it.

At other points in the day, Zoe patrolled the law firm, checking all the offices and conference areas to see if her presence was needed. Only after she was thoroughly satisfied that we humans could handle things for a bit did she decide it was okay to curl up and nap.

And that, in case you didn't know, is a prime reason I find it such a privilege to be the Handmaiden to the Golden. And why she shows up in so many entries.

Text � copyright 2000-2003 Becky