Becky Says...

April 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 27

Greetings from a slug.

No, not a bullet or a snail. This greeting is from someone who has used all her available time to be lazy this weekend. I needed the down time to stock up some energy for what will no doubt be a challenging week to come. There's always a lot to be done the last few days of a month.

And so I slept. And read. And watched television. And slept some more. Today I did manage to get groceries (for the most part; a couple of things I'll need before the end of the week didn't make it to the list), and do a couple of chores. But other than that, restful things.

I'm going to post this, then have supper and watch television for a while. If I can manage to stay awake, that is.

April 26

Friday was rainy and chilly and could have been damned unpleasant, if it had wanted to be. Apparently it didn't, because the day was, on the whole, pretty good.

Three of the four attorneys were out of the office, attending a continuing education conference. There weren't too many clients calling, so the place was fairly quiet for a change.

Snippets of the day:

Wendy and I decided to have turkey sandwiches for lunch, so I did the sandwich run. We ate in one of the conference rooms, and office dog Zoe had her fair share from both of us.

Associate 2 came in from lunch just in time to greet well-fed Zoe in the lobby. A-2 crouched down and had a wonderful visit with the dog, which was a whole lot of fun to watch. I'm not sure which of them enjoyed it more.

After they had concluded their lobbyfest, the two of them moved into the conference room with me and we had even more just plain visiting. Wendy had answered the phone, but was having a good conversation with a favorite client, so she was having a pleasant time, too.

Later in the afternoon, after we had done our work for the day, Wendy and I were discussing something (I'm not quite sure what), and I made a remark that caused her to look at me and say, "I think you're more evil than I am."

I agreed with her that this was distinctly possible, since, as I said, "I'm a little older than you are, and have had more practice."

Just as well we were through with our work, because neither of us were in any shape to go back into serious mode at that point.

Not too long afterward, Zoe decided we should all go home for supper, so we packed up and did just that. We never argue with her when she's right.

* * * * * * * * * * *

You'll notice that there is a link over in the sidebar about being notified when entries are posted. If you're interested, the information is on the linked page.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky