Becky Says...

April 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 20

Early Easter morning thoughts.

I've written entries on the past two Easter Eves, and it would please me a great deal if you'd read (or reread) them. In 2001 I shared a few Easter memories. In 2002 I wrote about spring and renewal and forgiveness.

I said last year that spring is a time of joy. I think we need a reminder of that this year, when so many of us have reminders and incidents of grief, either personal or on a broader scale. May the peace and joy of the season and the day be with all, regardless of beliefs, nationality, or any of the other things that serve to divide us.

And may we all find something to give us solace and hope. One thing that does so for me is the azalea pictured below. If you're one to read alt tags, you've probably seen that I call this one, "Daddy's Azalea." That's a little inaccurate; the plant was given as a get-well gift to my mother one spring, as she was recovering from surgery (the surgery mentioned in the 2001 entry). She and I started calling it Daddy's Azalea because Daddy planted it for her, at the corner of our then-new home.

It was one of the last things he planted that's still alive, and it gives me a great deal of joy when I see it. I actually have a dried sprig of it, brought back to my apartment in 1996 when I returned from Mother's funeral. That the plant was still in bloom that late in the season was a lovely sign that even without Mother's physical presence, there was still beauty and joy in my world.

Daddy's Azalea


Happy Easter! Happy Spring!

Text and image © copyright 2000-2003 Becky