Becky Says...

April 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 14

Today was crazy busy at work. The law firm does a lot of tax work, and with tomorrow being the deadline and all, that there were still tax things being done was no surprise. Mainly today's batch was extension requests. Because I know my way around the various addresses the IRS and the North Carolina Department of Revenue use, I wound up getting to do most of the mailing for those.

Of course, there were other things going on, so we all had a pretty full day. A nap afterwards was necessary, and most restoring.

Before you ask, yes, my tax returns are done, except for the copying. And the writing of a check to send with my North Carolina return. It's okay, though, the Feds get to send me back a little more than the state wants.

And I need to get on to that last bit, so I'll stop here.

April 13

I have this thing about anniversaries. The good ones, the bad ones, those with significance that may be lost on the rest of the world, whatever. Several of the ones most significant to me are in March and April.

And the thing I've realized this year is that even the anniversaries of happy events --- meeting people, my parents' anniversary, etc. --- are cloaked in sadness because the people involved are no longer around for me to share the anniversaries with them. Dammit.

It's not just the anniversary thing that's cloaked in sadness. Sadness seems to be all around these days. In my own circle, there are people gravely ill, people whose family members are gravely ill, people getting bad news about jobs and/or school admissions, and people for whom the situations are not so devastating but are terribly unpleasant nonetheless.

I'm sending out and gathering in lots of virtual hugs and words of support. Those things do help when things are bleak.

And for the reasons listed above, plus others not on the list, this year I have to agree with T. S. Elliot's words: April is the cruellest month.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky