Becky Says...

March 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 26

I mentioned on Friday that office dog Zoe showed me that she was watching out for me. I promised you the story, and here it is.

One afternoon last week my back decided to ache while I was at work. And that meant I needed to take a pill. I have done so often enough in my life that I know better than to take said pill on an empty stomach, and it had been several hours since lunch. My usual method of dealing with this is to keep something to eat handy---in this case, it was a miniature candy bar. That afternoon, I had eaten the candy, but the pill was yet to be taken, and was still in the bottle.

Zoe came in my office and had her usual after-the-mail-run treat. Then she started staring at me. This is Zoe's way of letting a human know that the human needs to pay attention to something Zoe considers important. I knew I had handed out the allotted treats, and that Zoe had plenty of water. I patted her head, but that wasn't what she wanted. She continued to stare at me, until I remembered I hadn't taken the pill.

I took it, and Zoe started to walk out of my office. She turned back to look at me. I'm no fool---I said thank you. Because I realized that whatever triggered it, Zoe knew I was supposed to take that pill, and she was determined that I would. Satisfied that I had done as I should do, and that her reminder duty was done, she went back to her usual nap spot in Wendy's office and headed into dreamland.

Who knows. She may have spent enough time paying attention to my late-afternoon habits that the scent of chocolate meant it was medicine time. She may have realized I hurt. Whatever was the trigger, she was right, I did need to do as she instructed.

And now you have a glimmer of why I think that dog is so special, and so smart, and why I consider myself well loved.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky