Becky Says...

March 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 25

Some advice to those who would wish to have a garment crocheted: don't wait till the end of March to ask for something that you want to wear for the current prom season. Can't happen, at least not from this crocheter. Think way ahead---like around a year.

And no, please don't consider that a solicitation for prom dress customers. Frankly, I don't really want to get into making fitted garments. They're more work than I have the time to do, or the desire, for that matter.

This advice was prompted, obviously, by a request from a potential customer who wrote tonight to ask me to make her prom dress. I wrote back, to say I couldn't do it, and to wish her well in finding something wonderful to wear.

That's the second dress request I've had of late. I got one last month from someone wanting a wedding dress crocheted for a June 1 wedding. I had to turn that one down, too.

I know that people who don't crochet don't really have a way of knowing how long it would take to make something, so I'm not trying to pick on these two potential customers. They both wanted something special, and I'm sorry I couldn't provide it for them.

Another thing you need to know about custom work: it is expensive. All those hours of work will cost you some serious money, and I think justifiably so. Don't forget that you're paying for knowledge and experience, along with the time and material involved.

All that being said, if you do have an idea you'd like realized in crochet, I'd appreciate it if you'd ask me about it! If you ask for something I can't do, I'll say so, but I promise to be nice about it. And to thank you for asking!

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky