Becky Says...

March 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 16

The entry is here.

March 15

Today I'm annoyed at the bank. There's some kind of screwup in my account, in which a deposit took longer to get itself deposited than it should have. That prevented me from doing what I wanted to do today, and won't be totally cleared up till Monday. I didn't find out about it till I checked my balance late yesterday.

The only good out of this? It wasn't the day that the rent check is due. I could have done without the money till Monday (with minimal deprivation, I mean), but it annoys me nonetheless. And I can be fierce when I'm annoyed. The withering glances I can give can scare people.

March 14

I had one of those odd experiences this afternoon, one that leaves you pondering the universe and other such weighty matters.

I had gone to a convenience store not far from the law firm to get gasoline, and as I was leaving the store after paying, a man stopped me and asked if I knew where a certain road was. I asked him to repeat it, to make sure I heard the name right, then told him how to get to it.

I know that doesn't sound odd. The odd part is that the only reason I know where that road is (it's out in the western part of my county), is that my late friend D., the first of the chosen chosen siblings, had lived there for the last few years of his life.

It was a little weird to be asked to give directions from where I was, because the first time I ever went to that convenience store was on a Sunday afternoon when D. and I had gone somewhere and needed gas on the way home.

No, the store is nowhere near where D. lived. The road is all the way across town, and several miles beyond.

Somehow, it felt meet and right to be asked for those directions today. Like maybe the man had been meant to find me to ask. I'm glad I could help him.

March 13

Thursday Randomness:

Yes, I know the majority of the world doesn't give a damn what proclamations are issued by the Town of Carrboro, North Carolina, but I admire the spirit behind this one, in which the Aldermen voted to encourage trade with French firms during the month of April. And even though one little anti-war protest might not make a difference, not making a protest because it might not matter is a shame.

Carrboro, incidentally, has always marched to its own drummer.

The azalea bushes over at the law firm's complex are now getting their new leaves. They should be getting buds soon, and then will do the blooming thing. This makes me very happy. Even for all the pollen and other assorted nuisances (bees, wasps) associated with spring, it's my favorite season.

A friendly proofreading tip: if you're trying to say in a different word that you want to cry over something that makes you sad, it's spelled b-a-w-l. Umm, spelling it otherwise, you're announcing that you want to have sex. Just so you'll know.

And thanks to the person who searched for "becky in pantyhose" the other day. Finding that in my referrer logs gave me a really good laugh.

I told you this one was random!

Text � copyright 2000-2003 Becky