Becky Says...

January 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






January 26

I was reading something this past week that mentioned a book having been, "first published in the mid-Twentieth Century." The phrase struck me funny, because that sounds like some moment in pre-history, with the date having been scrawled on that era's version of the Rosetta Stone.

And it reminds me of my feelings about being somewhat prehistoric, since I made my own appearance in the middle years of said century.

Amusing remarks aside, if you're going to make judgments about me, please do so on some basis other than my calendar age. Especially do not tag me as being middle-aged. I am not what I think of as middle-aged. For one thing, I doubt I'll live to twice my present age, so on that basis, I passed middle age a while back.

Mainly, I don't feel anything like settled. Middle-aged is supposed to feel settled. You're supposed to know what you want to do when you grow up by now, if you're not actually doing it. I'm just barely reaching that point. If I get all the way to the settled version of middle age, you'll be among the first to know.

And it annoys the hell out of me when one or two of my friends and several of my cousins assume I'm menopausal. For the record, I'm not. When I am, I'll own up to it, if need be. This most often comes up if I get hot, by the way. I'm a hot-natured person, and that has always been the case. Either that or I've been menopausal and having hot flashes since I was a toddler (as far back as I can remember).

Nor is the hair gray. That doesn't sit well with the cousins, I think, but too bad. It is not my genetic fault that they went gray early. I do have a few gray hairs, but few is the word---there aren't ten of them. And for the record, I don't want gray hair, and will dye it when the time comes.

Something else I'm not is nearly as conservative (in terms of outlook, not specifically politics) as I think middle-aged is. I'm downright reckless compared to most of the people I know---some far younger than I, by the way---who really do act middle-aged. And I don't plan to change my non-conservative ways. Ever, if possible.

Text � copyright 2000-2003 Becky