Becky Says...

December 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 30

You may recall that I made a decision not to go to the family gathering last weekend. Turns out that was a really good decision on my part! I got a note today from one of the cousins who had been there. Just from the little bit she told me, I can tell you for sure it was not my kind of party.

The deciding factor was that the party-goers were required to come up with variations on their names. It's not the silliness that I object to, but the enforced aspect of it. That, plus in my case the fact that I've spent way too many years of my life making these people quit using a much-hated childhood nickname for me to EVER want to be in a situation where they could start calling me by yet another nickname.

Yes, that's an old childhood trauma that's not buried very deep yet, thanks!

When I got through cringing and responded to the note, I didn't mention the nickname thing. I told the cousin that I was glad she'd had a good time. I went on to say I hoped to see the group another time, and mentioned something about being glad I hadn't gotten caught in the traffic from the football game in Charlotte (thanks to Wendy for that reminder).

Anyway, since she knows me well and has heard lots about the people involved with the party, I shared the note with Wendy. She responded that she was also glad I hadn't gone, since I would have had to make our local criminal defense attorney drive a very long distance to help me out.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky