Becky Says...

December 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 29

Come with me down memory lane. I found some pictures from a long-ago Christmas Eve. We had been to church, and were taking pictures afterward. These are all in the living room of our home.

First up, two shots of me. I think they were taken to make sure I had at least one to show off the outfit; I had made the skirt.

Those five little pictures on the wall?  Me, much younger.

The two of me show, in the background, shots of me when I was a little girl. In the second one, those are the tips of candles in front of me---there was a centerpiece on a coffee table, and Mother was sitting across from me when she took the picture.

That's two-year-old me looking over my own shoulder.

The one of Mother shows her in front of the fireplace, with a Nativity scene and angels on the mantel. That plate displayed over her shoulder was given to her the day she was born. It's a treasure.

Mother, with the nativity scene and da books.

And last, there's the one of the toothpick tree. Aunt Rebecca and I made that one, sometime back in the '60's. I have since learned that some people used these to hold appetizers, but we made ours never intending it to be other than a decoration. That made it all right that it was sprayed with paint, then another year it got some fake snow sprayed on it, then more paint another year. Those are little beads stuck on the branches of the tree; they don't show up well in the picture. And that's a star on the top.

That would be the famous toothpick tree.

One of the things I remember about that Christmas is that it's the one during which Mother gave me a rite-of-passage gift. I'll tell you about that another time. For now, I'm content to look at the pictures and enjoy the memories.

Text and images � copyright 2000-2002 Becky