Becky Says...

December 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 15

Well, it's ten days till Christmas. And that's about the only thing that I'm certain of regarding the upcoming holiday.

I have things to do before the day, and still have to decide how to answer the cousin who pissed me off earlier this week with her attempt to pester me into agreeing to come to the after-Christmas family get-together. I think it surprised me that she did so because she's usually one who does not attempt to meddle in my life.

I tend to get stunned when people act out of character.

Yes, there was another cousin pestering, but that was one who has been known to do so before, so my annoyance with her isn't particularly strong.

I used to care a whole lot about going home for the holidays. And on some levels I still do. But the population at the celebrations has changed a great deal, and one of the celebrations has been cancelled this year anyway. So while it matters, it's not the same kind of mattering.

For the record, my plans, even those regarding the family thing, are still in flux. They depend somewhat on how busy I am, the state of my finances, and the weather. Not necessarily in that order.

Unless someone is directly involved in my plans, I don't usually announce what those plans are anymore. That's a habit I developed a few years back, when it seemed that every time I planned something, my plans had to change. I got tired of being asked about trips that I didn't make, or whatever the plan had been. So I just started keeping those things to myself until I'm practically en route. It works for me.

Bearing that in mind, I'll let you in on my Christmas plans, including any travel ones, when they're set in concrete---which may well be Christmas Day.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky