Becky Says...

December 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 13

There's a small town, McAdenville, back in my home county that really gets into the holiday spirit in terms of decorations. I shared this link with some friends on a message board, and thought you might like to see it, too. It's graphics-intense, of course.

December 12

Today, as long-time readers who have just surfed archives (check this date the past two years) may recall, is a close friend's birthday. I called him this morning, to wish him a happy day and to ask if he and I could celebrate next week. We agreed that was a good plan. I'm sure he's trying to get caught up with work after the ice storm, as am I. And I'm sure we'll have a good time at lunch next week.

Work included one utterly unexpected event: a soft drink can that had apparently been damaged in transit from the canner to the store decided to explode when I touched it to make a bit more room in the refrigerator. The top popped. And I had a face full of cola.

Wendy did the lion's share of the cleaning of the refrigerator; I attended to cleaning Becky. I do believe it's the first time I've ever had to wash cola off my eyeglasses. I was commended for maintaining my composure during the event. This means I didn't raise my voice too often (or too high), and all the words that I spoke were ones that are considered appropriate in polite company.

I deserved something amusing after that episode, and I got it in the form of a phone call I answered. The caller was trying to reach one of our associate attorneys. She got the first name correct, but apparently misread the associate's last name from the list of attorneys she had in front of her. She wound up asking to speak to someone named, "Beginner." Which is not at all our attorney's name, nor could it be the attorney's designation---this associate has been licensed to practice for over twenty years.

I managed not to laugh as I asked if the caller perhaps wanted (correct name of our associate). That was the attorney, but the caller was also confused about that associate's area of practice. When told the attorney in question didn't do criminal defense work, the caller thanked me and hung up.

I sent e-mail to "Ms. Beginner" to let her know that she had missed a chance at what might have been an interesting case. Somehow I doubt she'll mind.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky