Becky Says...

November 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






November 18

I'm about writ out tonight. I've been answering e-mail, some of which had to do with my birthday, and some which came from a person who found the site by chance. He'd been searching for Christmas ideas, and found my entry from this past holiday. He wanted to know how things were going, and shared some of his story. I replied, and he replied, and I replied, so I think we have a good pen pal thing going. Okay, pixel pal. Relax, boys and girls, he's not geographically close enough to come here for dinner.

I found out today that my birthday lunch with the people from the law firm will be on Thursday. It will, unfortunately, be minus one of the attorneys, the new associate (hereinafter referred to as Associate Two, since there are (duh) two of them, and the one I'll be calling Associate One was there first). Associate Two is having surgery on Friday, and will need to do some pre-op things on Thursday. We have, however, come up with a plan---we'll go to lunch once she's recovered. This will probably be after the first of next year. And you thought I was kidding about having the celebration last well past the day!

For those of you who may be the slightest bit bored with my birthday, well, sorry! At least I'm in a good mood, and I'm having a really good time celebrating and getting lovely wishes from people. It's been a while since I've enjoyed a birthday this much.

November 17

I've spent a lot of the weekend writing thank-you notes. I got some wonderful greetings for my birthday, and some wonderful gifts. While I won't thank everyone by name here, I do want to thank Wendy for her kind words.

The day itself was good. It was warm and sunny, and the morning batch of e-mail greetings was a grand way to begin the observance.

We had already arranged that my office birthday celebration will be held next week. I asked for the deferral since at least two of the seven of us had appointments that would overlap a lunchtime or early afternoon gathering. So you'll be hearing about that next week. Meantine, there were lots of greetings for me. The most amusing was from Younger Partner, who sent it via office e-mail. It was set up as a normal file-opening request from him, which means an attachment containing the client data. This time the supposed client data sheet said, "Happy Birthday, Becky!" in very large blue letters.

Most years, I have a birthday meal with one or more of my friends. This year a scheduling conflict on their part made that not happen on the day, but that's planned for Tuesday. The longest-term friend in that group called to arrange that, but the call began with a lovely version of "Happy Birthday." He called me at work, and since I answered that particular call and he recognized my voice, he just started singing. That was fun and wonderful, and yes, he sings rather well.

Later in the afternoon I needed to run an errand. While I was in the grocery store, I bought myself a birthday present, a small teddy bear. She's blue-gray in color, with a red dress. Office dog Zoe thought I had bought her a new woobie (dog toy), but we carefully explained to Zoe that this woobie was just for me to play with, not for chewing. The bear is home with me for the weekend, but I believe she'll be an office bear. And after having her for a few hours, it became clear to me that her name is Betty.

Yes, that's for whom I'm named.
Betty Bear

I'll let you know how the rest of the celebrating goes.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky