Becky Says...

November 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






November 7

The adventure for this day was rearranging furniture. We had been planning to put the photocopier back where it had been before I was using that space for my chair. And we needed to set up the spare computer for use as needed. There were a few other pieces of furniture and some equipment and books that needed to be moved around, too.

Although none of us were dressed for a moving party (I don't usually wear heels when rearranging furniture), it turned out that today was the best day to have it. Younger partner started in on it when he realized that we had no clients coming in this afternoon, and that his schedule allowed for some time to devote to the move. He did the vast majority of it himself. Wendy and I finished up what we were doing, then got in on the moving action when it came time to move a bookcase from a conference room to its new home. I helped unload books. Wendy helped actually move the bookcase, while I got the hammer to secure the case's back before we stood it up. I enjoyed using my hammering skills, then we all helped relocate and reload the books. After that, there were bits and pieces to finish, then the results to admire.

Because we were actually enjoying what we were doing, there was a lot of joking going on. Back in August, when Wendy and I both moved from our prior spaces, I had designated TC to know where things were since she had no history of where they had been in the past. As we were moving things pretty much back where they had been prior to August, I commented that TC was not going to know where anything was when she got to work tomorrow (she had left before we started working). Younger partner allowed as to how it was her turn to be confused, since we had all had our turns at it.

We were also joking about how I was not a good substitute for the copier, since I tended to gripe when people smacked their to-be-copied material onto the top of my head and started poking my shoulder in search of the start button. I said that even worse was when people tried to use my ear as the slot for the postage meter....

Office dog Zoe did her supervisory role during the goings-on. Since she made no comment, we assume she is pleased with the new/old arrangement. We're sure her people are.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky