Becky Says...

November 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






November 5

Well, here in North Carolina, it's almost all over. There are some local races still being counted, but we know that Elizabeth Dole is the Senator-elect, and that we can all quit hearing who changed which opinion when about NAFTA and Social Security.

Yes, I voted today. I had meant to go vote before I went to work, but my morning got off to a slower start than I had thought it would. So I went to vote in late afternoon. Voting itself took about 90 seconds. Excruciatingly longer than that was being in line behind some idiot who had no idea where he was registered to vote.

No, I'm not kidding. Apparently in the last few months, he's moved three times, and in doing so had lived in three different counties. Since he wasn't on the roll at my polling place, the precinct workers were asking him a lot of questions about his registering to vote (as in when and where), and trying to determine where he had voted in past elections (as in whether he had ever voted in this precinct).

I was beginning to think those of us still in line might still be there several hours later when the polls closed. The precinct workers finally shuffled him off to the end of the table, and started asking the rest of us to come forward. I think he was gone by the time I finished voting. I'm betting that before the day was out he moved to a fourth county, or remembered that he was registered somewhere on Mars.

As for how I voted, let's just say I went with things I learned at my late mother's knee in making my choice.

And on that enigmatic note, I'll close and go watch more election results.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky