Becky Says...

October 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






October 12

I've been in a lousy mood just about all week. I suspect some of it has to do with not sleeping enough, and dealing with the flood's aftermath has taken its toll. If I wanted to use another phrase here, I'd say I'm feeling sorry for myself.

And I'm aware that I'm having my usual reaction to autumn---I just plain damned hate it. I don't give much of a damn about the trees turning colors---I think green is a wonderful color for leaves, thank you. I hate the shorter daylight time. I hate that the season represents death to me.

Then there was yesterday, when it rained. That rain actually started Thursday afternoon, and lasted about twenty-two hours, give or take a few minutes. Which means I got to see first-hand just how many not-quite-dangerous puddles there could be on the roads. The rain did cause some flooding in Chapel Hill, but no one was injured.

We do need rain, since we've been having drought conditions for a long time. And I heard that it did help bring lake levels back up in many counties, including mine. This, of course, means I shouldn't complain about it, but I could have done without a month's worth of rain coming in one day. So could the people who had to be rescued from a couple of flash floods that stranded them in their homes.

And if you've reached the conclusion that all the extra water in the atmosphere is making my apartment even more humid, pat yourself on the back, please, because you got it right.

Which brings this back to where I was in the first paragraph, and means I should go do some cleaning and hope my mood gets better soon. Thanks for letting me vent.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky