Becky Says...

September 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 23

I have a reputation for holding my temper, most of the time. Trust me, though, that when I finally let go of it, God help you. It is not pretty and involves profanity you may not be aware I know, much less use.

The younger associate attorney (of yesterday's entry) was lucky she was not around this afternoon when I came very, very close to losing it over something she had said of me recently. Had she been present when I found out her little snarky remark, I'm pretty sure it would have started with me asking just who in hell she thought she was. And it would have gone downhill from there.

In case you're wondering what she said to make me so angry, well, it seems that in the midst of complaining about everything she could think of one recent day, she commented to someone in the firm that she didn't know why they kept me around, since I didn't do anything.

I won't go into detail about what prompted that little outburst from her. Suffice it to say that both partners and everyone else at the firm know better than to think I don't do anything. I know that my work at the firm is important, that my contributions are recognized, and that the thanks I get are genuine.

It made me angry, however, that she was trying to get sympathy from someone and used me as part of her litany of what was the matter. I guarantee you I was never her problem.

But I also guarantee you that if she ever says something like that again, and says it in my presence, she will be well and truly cursed.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky