Becky Says...

September 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 18

Bits of the day.

I've been cleaning the computer keyboard over the last couple of nights, taking off a few keycaps at a time and removing the accumulated debris. So far, I've found about half a cracker's worth of crumbs, and a lot of lint.

There have also been some hairs, interestingly twisted around the spring mechanisms. I'm not surprised that there are hairs, but the twists have been intriguing me. It's almost as though some keyboard-sized hairdresser has been winding the hair on the springs as if the springs were rollers.

Late this afternoon, as I was about ready to leave the office, the senior partner, newly missing his tonsil, called to see if Wendy (his wife) had left. I told him she had, and approximately when. Since I had already asked Wendy how he was doing, and I could tell from the sound of his voice that he was not happy talking, I decided not to ask him for an update. I figured the kindest thing I could do after telling him what he wanted to know was to let him off the phone.

Other hours of the day have also been spent doing quiet things. It's been a peaceful day, all in all, and it was good.

September 17

The linking idiots have been at it again, to such an extent that I nearly wrote them a flamingly angry letter this evening, about the mean-spiritedness of the posts I had read. Turned out, though, that after the first batch of mean posts, there were a gracious plenty commenting on the need for patience and kindness and dealing with things without such harshness, since this is, after all, a voluntary thing for all involved.

Let's hope those messages do the trick. Otherwise, I may get all sorts of eloquent on them on my way out. I don't have time in my life or room in my soul for that sort of mean-spirited whining.

At least the sanctimonious one wasn't the ringleader in the whining this time. And I did do one nice thing for myself regarding this group: I set it up so that I read those posts from the website, thus not having the ones I find objectionable in my mailbox. It's saving my poor delete key from having to do so much work.

That reminds me of something amusing: yesterday a ladybug decided that my keyboard at work was an excellent new residence. I disagreed.

I won.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky