Becky Says...

August 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 23

Odds and ends here.

I've told you before that I actually like warm weather. And I do. But our record-setting 103 degrees this afternoon was a little much, even for me. My idea of pleasantly warm doesn't go much over eighty-something. I don't usually complain about the heat till it hits 98 or so. Which means 103 is in the complaining zone!

Of course, this was the day I had arranged to have some work done on my car, and was riding the bus to work. The time on the two buses was fine---they have great air conditioning. But the time waiting for either of them was about as unpleasant as you think. By the time I got to the office, I was ready to curl up on one of the air conditioner vents and take a nap. The car, incidentally, is fine; the work was routine maintenance. Oh, and the new secretary took me to get it; the garage is on her way home.

Making me happy this evening is something that happened this morning before I left to deal with the car. I was one of a number of people who asked for and received a special user title at The Usual Suspects. Mine is "Weekend Bitch." I saw that phrase used as a thread title a few months ago, and decided if I ever had the opportunity to have a user title, I would ask for that. I liked it because I'm Southern and polite and work with humans all week long, but on the weekend, my inner bitch can come out to play. Some weekends she plays more than others.

Politics in North Carolina is getting all hot and heavy. Our primary elections are on September 10, and this is the year 90 percent of the population of the state is running for a chance to replace retiring Senator Helms. Many in the remaining ten percent are running for state legislature positions. Those got a little more interesting this summer in a redistricting that has left several incumbents running against each other. That's the case in my district, and I've about decided to vote for whichever candidate sends me less junk mail. I'm actually grateful that the redistricting problems caused the primary to be delayed from its usual May date. This has meant much less nasty political commentary. The ads so far are pretty decent.

August 22

Congratulations! I'm very pleased for you!

* * * * * * * * * * *

I've just spent the evening reinstalling Windows on my computer. This was not what I had planned to spend the evening doing. But late last night, I downloaded updates to the operating system. Said downloads corrupted a registry file, to the point that there was no repair. Needless to say. updates, schmupdates from now on, at least in terms of ones for Windows. No, I don't care to rethink this.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky