Becky Says...

July 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 28

I really do need to get a copy of the List of Computer Rules wherein it is decreed that every laptop computer I own has to go through at least two replacements of the adapter. I'm sure you have questions. Yes, it has happened again. Yes, it's the same computer that had an adapter problem in the spring. Yes, there's a really big problem with that new adapter.

The new adapter has a short. I think the short may have been developing slowly over the last few weeks, which would explain the problems I've been having with crashes. The short firmly became evident just after I noticed that the battery wasn't charging.

I reached behind the computer to make sure the adapter's plug was firmly in place. When I touched the plug, the indicator LED on the adapter itself went out. And there was a small popping noise. Umm, that was my cue to disconnect the power and unplug the adapter from the computer.

Mercifully, this time the adapter did not fry the battery, which is fine. So is the computer itself. I've sent e-mail to customer support, and am expecting to hear from them shortly regarding getting a new adapter.

This is one computer escapade where except for the nuisance factor, I'm not particularly provoked. The last time I had to get the second replacement adapter, the manufacturer's warranty had expired and I was working with the store's own warranty (and the store's own idiots).

For the present, I am using another of the computers in the dormitory. I had to spend some time setting up account passwords and such on this machine, but it is in good shape. I am fortunate to have it. and the others in the group, so I can do the things I need or want to do.

Oh, if any of you have the list mentioned above, could you send me a copy? I suspect there's a schedule included somewhere in the list, and I'd sorta like to be prepared the next time this is scheduled to happen. Thanks!

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky