Becky Says...

July 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 21

Greetings from techno hell. I've spent several hours this evening doing computer stuff, begining with reinstalling some of the components of Windows. This was in an effort to stop the system crashes I've been having. And it was almost as much fun as you think it was!

It is good that I am not a newcomer either to Windows or to this computer. The fact that I at least knew what I was trying to accomplish made the whole thing go much better than had I had to look up every term in the manual.

I had forgotten how much I had customized this computer (quite a bit). I've had to spend some time redoing that, and have had to reinstall some programs. There are still a few waiting in the wings for reinstalling at a later moment (translation: when I need them). But I did get the important Internet stuff reinstalled. I do, after all, have my priorities.

While some of this stuff was getting installed, I did something else for myself that should make my life better. I moved the telephone answering machine to another spot in my apartment, where it can't wake me up by clicking on. I have had too many mornings start too early courtesy of someone who didn't really want to talk to or leave a message for me---either a hang-up, a wrong number, or a telemarketer.

I had tried putting things beside the machine to muffle the sound, but they weren't working well enough to keep me from hearing it. So it is moved far away from my ears. I will still be able to check it easily enough---I did not put it out of sight.

Now, I think I'll go to sleep and see how pleasant it is not to be invited to buy something I can't use early tomorrow morning.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky