Becky Says...

May 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 26

Yes, I know it's been another couple of days and I usually don't let that much time go by. I've been sick. I haven't had a cold this bad in a long time. Usually they don't sideline me. This one did. And yes, I'm sure it wasn't the flu.

I am better, and I thank those who have asked. My normally quick responses to e-mail have not been happening in the last few days; blame it on the need for sleep and know your mail will be answered soon. Most of what I've done in the last couple of days is sleep. And I've read some, and watched lots of television.

Some of what I've been reading is commentary from one place or other on the sex crimes coming to light involving Catholic priests. I don't think I need to add my opinions to the collection on the subject.

There is, however, something I do want to say here. The word, "pedophilia" is another of those words (like "insanity") that has separate meanings in the legal and lay senses of the word. Please know which one you mean before using the term. And you might want to remember "hebephilia," as well, which is a preference toward adolescents.

Sometimes knowing the precise terms isn't necessary. More and more often, though, it is the case that understanding the vocabulary in use can make all sorts of differences in understanding what is stated.

May 24

Okay, I finally just gave in to the fact that I really did have the cold from hell, and was going to miss the rest of the work week. As I write this it's late Friday afternoon, and I'm beginning to feel a little better. And hey! I've managed to stay awake just about all day. That's the first time since Monday that's been the case.

Do not confuse "feeling a little better" with being well. I am still coughing. My ears are still stuffed up (though not painful). I am still a little feverish. I would consider myself contagious.

And I'm not very far away from being cranky. Too many people have been determined to be petty (and stupid and whiny) in public this week. Apparently they missed the earlier memo wherein they were told it was my turn, but that my pettiness would be kept private (it was).

This usurping of my turn will not do.

Be advised that I am taking names.

May 22

I hate having colds. I had forgotten how much I hate them, especially head colds, until I started getting sick with this one. I've been lucky enough to miss catching them for several years, and this one showed up by surprise --- no one I have spent much time with in the last few days had one. I'm thinking this one came home with me from Saturday's grocery-shopping trip, and didn't make its presence known till a headache arrived on Monday.

So yesterday morning I woke up stuffy-headed and headachy. I was pretty sure it wasn't an allergy, but at the time, it felt more like a sinus infection than a cold. I sent e-mail to Wendy because the computer was closer to me than the telephone, to let her know I was ailing and wouldn't be coming to work. I took medicine and went back to bed. When I woke up, I realized I had a full-fledged cold.

I didn't do much for the rest of the day, or most of the evening. I did have a chance to have a really good phone chat with David --- this is unusual, because he and I usually keep up with each other by e-mail. In case you wondered if living in San Francisco for all those years has caused him to lose his knowledge of things Southern, I can assure you it has not.

I thought I would be back at work today, but I woke up coughing, sneezing, and with a fever. I sent more e-mail to Wendy, to let her know that I was going to keep my contagious self at home again, and that with any luck I would be there tomorrow, less ill and less likely to share the fun of this with anyone.

After that, I went back to sleep for another few hours, then went out for some more cough drops and a few things from the grocery store. I have now had supper, and am thinking seriously of going back to bed.

I wish Norton Antivirus worked on humans.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky