Becky Says...

May 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 22

I hate having colds. I had forgotten how much I hate them, especially head colds, until I started getting sick with this one. I've been lucky enough to miss catching them for several years, and this one showed up by surprise --- no one I have spent much time with in the last few days had one. I'm thinking this one came home with me from Saturday's grocery-shopping trip, and didn't make its presence known till a headache arrived on Monday.

So yesterday morning I woke up stuffy-headed and headachy. I was pretty sure it wasn't an allergy, but at the time, it felt more like a sinus infection than a cold. I sent e-mail to Wendy because the computer was closer to me than the telephone, to let her know I was ailing and wouldn't be coming to work. I took medicine and went back to bed. When I woke up, I realized I had a full-fledged cold.

I didn't do much for the rest of the day, or most of the evening. I did have a chance to have a really good phone chat with David --- this is unusual, because he and I usually keep up with each other by e-mail. In case you wondered if living in San Francisco for all those years has caused him to lose his knowledge of things Southern, I can assure you it has not.

I thought I would be back at work today, but I woke up coughing, sneezing, and with a fever. I sent more e-mail to Wendy, to let her know that I was going to keep my contagious self at home again, and that with any luck I would be there tomorrow, less ill and less likely to share the fun of this with anyone.

After that, I went back to sleep for another few hours, then went out for some more cough drops and a few things from the grocery store. I have now had supper, and am thinking seriously of going back to bed.

I wish Norton Antivirus worked on humans.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky