Becky Says...

May 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






May 5

A public service announcement brought up by a frustrating several days in Beckyland: update your computer virus protection, and make sure you scan your computer for viruses, worms, etc., on a regular basis.

It has been more of a nuisance for me than a real problem...so far, none of the instances of Klez-whatever-extension has taken up residence on my system. But every time someone sends an infected e-mail (I think I've had four in the past few days, though it may be five), I have to make sure whatever needs deleting is deleted, and scan the computer again to be on the safe side.

If you need more information about viruses, an excellent starting place is Symantec. Yes, they are in the antivirus business, but they offer a lot of free advice and some free diagnotics. I know there are other companies doing the same thing; this is the one I am most familiar with and from whom I get my antivirus protection.

* * * * * * * * * * *

And while I'm mentioning frustrating computer-related things, let me bring up e-mail messages to discussion groups. Please, if someone has posted a really long message to a group, and all you want to do is answer a small portion of it, don't copy the whole message. Either delete the parts you don't need to send, or only copy the part you do need---whichever works better for your e-mail setup.

Those of us who get the digest version of the discussion group mail will appreciate your efforts probably more than those who get individual messages.

Another plus: your point won't be as likely to get lost in the scrolling.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky