Becky Says...

April 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 28

Sometimes starting over is the best thing to do. I have been working off and on in recent days on a crochet project. This one is not for a client. The work was going fairly well, but the more of it that was completed, the less I liked it.

I finally got to the point last night that I realized I didn't just dislike it, I hated it. It looked pretty, but it didn't feel right in my hands. It was entirely too stiff and unyielding for the project it's supposed to be (yeah, I'm being vague on purpose; I'll tell you when I'm through with the work). So I did what I should have done several days ago; I ripped out stitches back to the first row and started the work again.

This time, I'm using some slightly different stitches that are giving me a much more pliable piece. I am much happier with it this way, and the work is going well.

I don't consider the earlier work to be wasted, by the way; it gave me some insight into hook size and stitch patterns for a new handbag idea. Less pliable handbags are not necessarily a bad thing. I think I'll make that a future project.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I'm sorry to learn of the death of Ruth Handler, the inventor of the Barbie doll. I've always enjoyed Barbies, both in playing with them as a child and using them as models for handwork projects when I was first learning to sew, knit, and crochet.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Happy Journal Anniversary to Wendy. I take particular pleasure in Wendy's "Dragon's Lair" because I introduced her to the concept of online personal sites in the first place, and I urged (okay, nagged) her to start one. I enjoy her writing, and knew others would, too.

* * * * * * * * * * *

And Happy Meeting Anniversary to David and Mark. I'm glad for both of you that meeting has led to good things.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky