Becky Says...

April 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 23

We had another round of late-day silliness this afternoon. Unlike the earlier one, this one wasn't based on something I said, but was started by young partner quoting Wendy about something she had said about a recent Jimmy Buffet concert. Wendy has all the details in the linked entry. I found the whole thing a delightful way to end a day.

Earlier in the day, I had spent some time at one of my favorite places, my friend's office machines shop. The typewriter I use at the law firm to do file cards had decided it no longer liked file cards, and it needed some attention. So I called and asked if this was a good day to bring it, and he said by all means. I got to visit while we tested the typewriter and he fixed the minor problem. I enjoyed the visit, and the typewriter is all fixed. Both of those things please me.

* * * * * * * * * * *

News from this area is that the local United Way decided to go with their own anti-discrimination policy and deny funding for the upcoming year to the Boy Scouts. That may not sound surprising to those who think the local agency is merely good old liberal Chapel Hill. But it isn't. It comprises the whole Research Triangle, some of which is extremely conservative.

This is serious money being withheld, and I really do hope it causes some serious thought at national levels. I am not naive enough to think that the powers that be will suddenly see the light and change their policies without some incentive. The funding lost from this part of the state should be at least a nudge in the incentive department. And I commend the local United Way for this action.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky