Becky Says...

April 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 17

Something happened last night that reminded me how long I have been in the Chapel Hill area, and what an amazing place this can be. A lot of the amazing of it has to do with the people who are attracted to the place.

I was doing a bit of research, and remembered that I know one of the people who participated for years in a festival near Chicago. The research I was doing touched on that festival, which I first heard of because of my friend here.

Just another one of those small world things that make Chapel Hill the place it is.

An anecdote about my mother: she was never particularly star-struck, but did have a short list of people of whom she was in awe (the same is true of her daughter, by the way). On that list was a professor of Spanish at UNC-Chapel Hill who had written several textbooks which Mother had used in her teaching. When I went to work at Non-Profit Agency #2, I learned that he and his wife were very active participants in the agency's work. I soon had a chance to meet them, and to tell him how much his work had meant to my mother. He sent his thanks for her kind words, which made Mother's day.

And yet another one of those small world things that make Chapel Hill the place it is. I do love this place, and consider myself fortunate to be able to live here.

* * * * * * * * * * *

There is a picture of two adorable children here. Aunt Becky says go look.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Although the commitment time is over for those who participated in "Saving Kymm's Soul," the ring of journallers started by Beth in honor of Kymm's pledge to give up reading journals for Lent, the list is still available.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky