Becky Says...

April 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 13

I got an odd request yesterday at Rebeccaworks: someone wanted to know how to crochet a baby blanket.

I ordinarily sell the finished item, and don't provide instructions. But this request was special: this young lady's father and stepmother are expecting a baby, and she wants to make a blanket. She told me a bit about her crochet skill level, which was beginner. I took a few minutes today to send her a link to some instructions I found at About.Com for basic crochet, which had as a bonus a pretty pattern stitch.

She wrote back to say thanks, and to tell me she thinks the instructions will be just what she needs. And that made me feel good...I like helping when I can, and I liked why it was she wanted to get the information.

My own crocheting started when I was a child. My mother had learned to crochet at some point along the way, and passed on to me some of what she knew. Then she got me some very good basic instructions.

I learned a lot from those instructions. As the years have gone by, I've learned more stitches and patterns, and come up with some patterns of my own. Crocheting is something that brings me a lot of pleasure. And baby blankets are a particular favorite of mine. It's nice to help welcome a new person into the world.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Although the commitment time is over for those who participated in "Saving Kymm's Soul," the ring of journallers started by Beth in honor of Kymm's pledge to give up reading journals for Lent, the list is still available.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky